About Us / Intro

Lake Victoria South Water Services Board(LVSWSB) is a state corporation under the Ministry of Environment Water and Natural Resources. It was established under the Water Act 2002 through Gazette Notice No. 1714 of 12th March 2004 with the mandate of ensuring efficient and economic provision of Water and Sanitation Services in its area of jurisdiction. Lake Victoria South Water Services Board started its operations in 2004 in administrative counties within Nyanza Province and the Southern part of Rift Valley Province. Lake Victoria South Water Services Board is among the 8 Water Service Boards established all over the country.

The Water Act 2002 requires that LVSWSB contracts agents i.e. Water Service Providers (WSP) to provide water and sanitation services on its behalf. Geographically, it covers an area of 21,720 Sq. Km, and administers to the counties of Kisumu, Siaya, Migori, Homa Bay, Bomet, Kericho, Nyamira, Kisii and parts of Nandi and Narok Counties.

LVSWSBs target population is estimated at 8.5 million with a Population distribution of 21% in urban and 79% in rural areas.

There are nine (9) urban and eighty six (86) rural water services providers and several informal services providers within the board. A large number of them are community based managed facilities while a few belong to public institutions, faith based organizations and agri-based private establishments (tea estate, dairy etc). On average, the percentage of the population with access to safe water in the LVSWSB area is estimated at 56% and 29% in urban and rural areas respectively while the percentage population with access to safe sanitation is estimated at 49% and 15% respectively. Access to sewerage in urban areas is estimated at 24% while 0% for the rural areas. The non- revenue water (NRW) in the Boards area is estimated to be around 49%.

Our Partners





Lavictors House,
Off Ring road Milimani


P.O. BOX 3325-40100,

Email Us


Call Us

(+254) 057-2025128
(+254) 057-2025127

Follow Us